Cora Marie

Cora Marie is my second daughter. She was born October 6, 2011. The pregnancy was a surprise to us since Elliot was only 7 months old when we found out, but she was an amazing surprise and I now love that the two of them are so close.

Cora’s Delivery

Due Date: October 17, 2011

Delivery Date: October 6, 2011

I started having mild cramping around 9:00 Wednesday night and just thought they were Braxton Hicks to I went to bed a little early. Throughout the night the pain started to get a little more frequent, but never intense or painful. I was up most of the night though because they were uncomfortable. After the mild cramping had turned regular and painful, I called into labor and delivery unit and they recommended I stay at home for a little while longer until the contractions were closer together, more like 5-7 minutes apart. While I was on the phone with the nurse, I had 2 contractions in the matter of 8 minutes, so I was definitely progressing rather quickly. I decided to wake Eric up and see what he thought I should do. He told me to go into the hospital and call him if I had to stay… what?! Luckily, he can blame it on being half awake when he told me that.

We decided to get ready and go in to the hospital so I quickly called Eric’s mom to come over and watch Elliot. We left the house about 6:00am and during the 15 minute car ride I had had 3 contractions and they were VERY painful! When we got there I had another contraction in the elevator and another one standing by the desk signing my name to be admitted. They rushed me to a room in the triage and as soon as I got in there I felt like a had to push! I made Eric go tell the nurse that I needed to push so a nurse was called in right away. I had to hold on for a couple minutes until the doctor got there. As soon as she did and I was hooked up to the monitor she told me to push. I waited until the next contraction and by the second push, Cora Marie was out – 6:43am. I had no time for an epidural so I definitely felt that pain of actually pushing, plus all the contractions, which I remember being more painful than the pushing part, but maybe that was because pushing only lasted about 5 minutes!

Cora came 2 weeks early and was a little peanut weighing in at 5lbs. 10 oz. 19 inches. She was the smallest baby I had ever seen but she checked out completely perfect, she was  just little.

This last year has flown by so fast watching you grow up. It is your 1st birthday in a couple weeks! I came up with a few things that you are doing at 11 months that I never want to forget…

– How happy you are when you wake up in the morning or from naps – I’m the best person in the world to you!

– How you DO NOT CRY! You really don’t. You jabber and growl, but you don’t cry (unless in pain or scared).

– You love bath time!

– You love cheese!

– You want to run NOW!! (You are so close to walking, you’ll take a few steps, realize you’re not holding onto anything and gracefully sit down. YOU CAN TOTALLY DO IT!).

– Your super ticklish and I love to hear you laugh!

– You are SUCH an easy baby! Mommy & Daddy lucked out with both of you girls!

– You are making the cutest, little stinky face right now… totally makes me laugh!

– You do NOT like peas, in fact, you have projectile vomited all over when we have fed them to you, not a fun mess to clean up!

-You think the stairs are the funnest place to play, not fun for Mommy though. Gives me a mini heart attack when it is quiet and I look to the stairs and see a little Cora head peaking up over the banister. Cute, yes. But NOT safe!

– You get frustrated really easily when you can’t get something you want. When we close the doors to the basement, you grunt in complete frustration because you want that door open!!

– You love playing with Elliot on Mommy’s big bed. You girls could stay on there for hours just jumping and having Momma pull your legs when you get too close to the edge.

-You are a snuggle bug.

– Your favorite meal would consist of ham chunks, cheese, broccoli and raspberries.

I absolutely love watching my girls play and grow up together. There is nothing like the bond of sisters and I am so glad they have each other in their lives.

I am one proud momma.

Leave a Reply

