So I’m a mom… now what?

Image

When I found out we were expecting our first child I was beyond excited… yes, nervous too, but what soon-to-be parent isn’t? We had been trying for awhile so when it actually happened I was extremely thankful. I had an awesome pregnancy, no issues, I gained an average amount, and actually felt great the entire time. Dare I say I loved being pregnant!

Elliot May was born May 13, 2010 and was absolutely perfect! Labor was fine, about 8 hours which I would take after hearing some other crazy delivery stories! We had a normal hospital stay, she was completely healthy and we got to leave right on time. I was actually willing to leave earlier, but it is recommended that you stay the minimum of two nights in the hospital for observations for both the mom and the baby. Being that I had no idea of what was to come once I got home, I decided to enjoy the “mini-vacation” and stay the two nights while someone wait on me hand and foot as long as I could. As soon as the doctor gave me the dismissal and okay to go home, that’s where I began to panic. My husband and I looked at each other and I knew we had the same thoughts running through our heads… You’re actually going to let us take this little thing home with us and we’re supposed to figure it out? Isn’t there an instruction manual of what we’re supposed to be doing? A million questions ran through my head in a matter of seconds: When do I feed her? How often? What if she doesn’t latch on? If she’s crying and not wet, hungry or tired, what does she need? How do I swaddle her? How do I bathe her? How do I hold her? Ha, we were definitely on our own and left to figure it out. We were parents… now what?

Without going into major details, we did manage to bring our daughter home, from the slowest drive ever! I think Eric was nervous to go too fast or go over any sort of bump in case she might get hurt… ah, the adorable first-time-dad traits. We introduced her to the family pets, got settled in and started loving life as a family of three. I had the camera glued to my hip the first year and tried to document every little thing Elliot did. Being she was the only child, I had time for that! I had time to play with her and make dinner, and do the laundry and play with tolerate the dog and actually have time at the end of the evening to sit and talk to my husband about our days and just… relax! Yes, I actually knew what the word RELAX meant with just one child. I wish I knew then to count my blessings!

Move ahead a few years later… Elliot is now 2 1/2 and the most energetic and loud toddler I know! She is my entire world and gives me a real purpose in life.

Since this post is dedicated to my first born, (Cora, you will come next, I promise)… I came up with a few things that Elliot is doing right now that I hope to always remember…

– How sad you get when you say that as soon as you turn 2 you’re pacies will break and they have to go in the garbage. (You’re now 2 1/2 and still has her paci at nap and night.) See? I said I didn’t have the answers and that is a battle that I’m not willing to put up with every night just quite yet.

– How you pronounce “S” as “L” – Shoes = Loos. Socks= Locks.

– How saying the opposite of anything is the way to get you to do something. “Don’t give me a kiss, don’t do it…”

– You could watch Happy Feet twice a day if left up to you.

– Put Ranch dressing in front of you and you’ll eat anything!

– How you want to “Nuggle” before naps and bedtime (I love it!!)

– You really have no fear. You ran full speed down the driveway towards the street and even though I screamed STOP! the only thing that stopped you was falling flat on your knees. I’d rather you fall on your knees than in front of a car!

– You love to “jocky cars” meaning you get to ride in the front seat while we move cars around the driveway – a huge highlight for you!

– It is a STRUGGLE to get you back inside after playing outdoors! I prepare myself for a tantrum every time!

– Sunday afternoons are when you and Dad cut fresh coconut. “I wanna cwack a coconut” (as you point to your sisters head). Not sure where the correlation between a coconut and Cora’s head came from, but sweetie-pie, they’re not the same!!

– Your babies usually go along with us wherever we go, and sometimes their stroller, too.

– Saying “Ow, Ow, Ow” when we’re not even touching you. Does somebody crave attention or what?!

– You are STUBBORN! I wonder where you get that from!?

– Cute words you say: DA-BANA,  SEE  YOU IN DAMORROW!,  LITTLE BIT (Go outside only little bit, Have a cookie only a little bit!), OVER BEAR (over there), CO-WA (Cora)

– Not a huge fan of baths anymore, not sure what changed, but an ease-free way of getting you to take a bath now is by getting out the big metal galvanized tin and letting you “play” in the water outside. Little do you know that a little shampoo and soap has made its way into the tin.

– 26 months: You are starting to say your “S”. Snakes say “Sssssss”, you want your “paci’s”.

– You are also talking in full sentences (with little pauses in between words – I can see your little brain ticking away to think of what you want to say). Last night you told me that on Word World, Sheep was an astronaut and it flew to Pigs house… now you want to be an astronaut too!

– You have turned into a completely PICKY eater! There is nothing that I can make that I know you will eat, everyday is a hit or miss with you (unless the meal includes raspberries, strawberries or coconut).

– “Mom, Mommy, Mama, look I’m doing!”

Just because I’m a mom now, doesn’t mean I have all the answers. I have no idea what I’m doing, I’m literally taking it day by day. Add another baby, Cora Marie, born October 2011 … (more of her story to come) things get really chaotic!

I love my life and I love my girls and being a mom is the most rewarding, challenging job out there … and I wouldn’t change it for anything!

Leave a Reply

